Time Tracking and Billing Software for Growing Businesses
Grade: C — Score: 60/100
eBillity offers Time Tracker and LawBillity for time tracking, billing, payroll tracking, invoicing, and reporting. The product pages describe features such as timesheets and timers, AI time entry assistant, notifications and approvals, GPS and geolocation, PTO and attendance tracking, payroll-ready reports, mobile and desktop apps, online payments, budget tracking, expense reports, legal time tracking, trust accounting, ABA code support, and LEDES billing support.
The workflow described in the content centers on tracking time, creating client invoices, managing payroll-related employee time, and monitoring project performance and profitability. The site also highlights project tracking with estimated hours versus actual time spent, budget tracking, expense tracking, approvals before billing, and live reporting.
The provided content does not state pricing details beyond a free trial, and it does not provide company facts such as founded year or headquarters. It also does not state compliance certifications, data retention policies, or specific integration partners.
Time Tracker Billing: $8 per user/month billed annually, or $10 per user/month month-to-month; no base fee
Time Tracker Workforce: $11.20 per user/month plus a $17.60 monthly base fee billed annually, or $14 per user/month plus a $22 monthly base fee month-to-month
Time Tracker Premium: $16.80 per user/month plus a $24 monthly base fee billed annually, or $21 per user/month plus a $30 monthly base fee month-to-month
No, according to eBillity's GPS page, which says location is tracked only while an employee is clocked in and stops during breaks and after clock-out. Points are recorded roughly every 10 minutes and kept for up to two months; employees see only their own points, while managers see the people they manage. If an admin makes GPS required, employees cannot log time in the mobile app with location services off. The pricing table marks GPS on Workforce and Premium but not on Billing, while the GPS page says every account includes it, so Billing buyers should confirm before relying on it.
Yes, eBillity's help center documents connections to both, with QuickBooks Desktop linking through Intuit's Sync Manager. Only admin-approved time entries move from Time Tracker to QuickBooks, for billing and optionally payroll, while customers, employees and service items created in QuickBooks flow into Time Tracker. Integrations come with the Workforce and Premium plans but not with Billing. The FAQ calls integrations free, but a 2021 help article for QuickBooks Desktop still mentions a $5 monthly connection fee, so confirm the current terms with eBillity.
Not for basic invoicing, because the Billing plan includes client invoicing, budget and expense tracking and payment acceptance. Job costing, the client invoice portal, invoice reminders and online payments are on Premium, and Workforce does not include client invoicing at all. A business that wants payroll time tracking and client billing in one account needs Premium, since Billing lacks GPS, the kiosk and payroll integrations.
Workforce and Premium add a flat monthly base fee on top of the per-user price, while Billing has none. On Workforce billed month-to-month, one user costs $36 a month ($14 plus the $22 base fee) and five users cost $92, so the base fee weighs most on very small teams. Annual billing cuts both the per-user price and the base fee by 20%, but it is paid in full upfront and eBillity's Terms make billing non-refundable.
Yes. eBillity's Manage Team Entries view lets admins filter entries by status and edit or reject them before approval. Approved entries are what sync to QuickBooks or the payroll provider, so corrections happen before the pay run. Admins can also set break-end reminders and alerts before overtime or double time starts.
The current eBillity pricing page lists no free plan; Billing, at $8 per user per month billed annually, is the lowest-priced option. eBillity offers a 14-day free trial without a credit card, after which you must add payment details to keep using the account. The Terms still mention free single-user accounts, which are deleted after 180 days without a login, but the pricing page does not list that option.
Yes. eBillity offers an Outlook add-in for Windows and Microsoft 365 that turns emails and calendar events into time entries, and a Chrome extension that does the same for Google Calendar. It also lists a Zapier connector and a Windows desktop app that works offline and syncs when you reconnect. Test the add-in with your own mailbox during the 14-day trial before rolling it out.
Not automatically. Employees log in to the eBillity kiosk with a 4-digit PIN, and facial detection attaches a photo to the entry for managers to review. eBillity's FAQ says detection does not verify identity and describes facial recognition as a planned feature. If you use eBillity's biometric services, its privacy policy makes you responsible for obtaining written employee authorization where the law requires it.
QuickBooks Time comes from Intuit and can be bundled with QuickBooks payroll; its time-only Premium plan lists a $20 monthly base fee plus $10 per user and requires QuickBooks Online. eBillity Workforce costs $14 per user plus a $22 base fee month-to-month and syncs approved hours to QuickBooks Online or Desktop as well as ADP, Gusto and Paychex Flex. eBillity suits teams that want a choice of payroll provider or client invoicing on Premium, while QuickBooks Time suits teams that want time and payroll from one vendor.
Harvest centers on project time, budgets and invoicing, with a free plan for one seat and two projects and a Teams plan at $9 per seat per month billed annually. eBillity Premium covers invoicing and job costing too, and adds payroll-oriented tools: GPS, geofencing, a clock-in kiosk, scheduling and payroll exports. Agencies and consultants that only bill clients may prefer Harvest, while firms that also pay hourly staff should confirm whether Harvest covers those payroll needs before choosing it over eBillity Premium.
How AI agents (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, others) read this review page in the past 7 days. Updated weekly. View eBillity AI Visibility Report.